About WIT Headers

Our CommunityAcademic Council

Academic Council

Contact Academic Council through its Secretariat:

Dr. Derek O'Byrne - Secretary

Ms. Margaret Maher

051 845535

The WIT Academic Council is appointed by the Governing Body, under the terms of the Regional Technical Colleges Acts, to assist it in the planning, co-ordination, development and overseeing of the educational work of the college and to protect, maintain and develop the academic standards of the courses and the activities of the college. Academic Council is, therefore, central to assuring and developing  the standards of teaching, learning, assessment and research at WIT, and in developing and monitoring the implementation of the academic strategy of the Institute.

Academic Council regulations and policies are available on the WIT Policies pages. Academic Council draft documents and minutes are available on the Academic Council intranet site. Academic Council actions and decisions occur at the council itself and also in the committees that report to council. The schedule of the council and committee meetings for this academic year is listed here.

The 8th WIT Academic Council membership is:

Willie Derek Tom O'Toole Helen Murphy
Dr. William Donnelly, Chairperson
Dr  Derek O’Byrne, Secretary
Dr. Tom O’Toole, Head of School (Dean) of Accountancy & Business Studies
Ms Helen Murphy, Head of School (Dean) of Education
John Wells Ken Thomas Peter McLoughlin Marian O'Neill
Dr. John Wells, Head of School (Dean) of Health Sciences
Dr . Ken Thomas, Head of School (Dean) of Engineering
Dr. Peter Mcloughlin, Head of School (Dean) of Science
Ms.  Marian  O'Neill, Head of School (Dean) of Humanities
Paul O'Leary Brendan Jennings Orla O'Donovan Suzanne Denieffe
Dr. Paul O’Leary, Head of Quality Promotion and Development
Dr. Brendan Jennings, Head of Graduate Studies
Dr. Orla O'Donovan, Head of Department of Science
Dr. Suzanne Denieffe, Head of Department of Nursing and Health Care
Bruce Wardrop Jennifer Kavanagh
T.J McDonald
Mr. Bruce Wardrop, Technical Officer
Ms. Jennifer Kavanagh, School of Humanities
Ms. Anne Marie McGrath, School of Business
Dr. T.J. McDonald, School of Science
Jimmy McGibney Avatar Avatar Laura Keane
Mr. Jimmy McGibney, School of Science
Dr. Rebecca O’Mahony, School of Science
Dr. Cormac O’Raifeartaigh, School of Science
Ms. Laura Keane, Head of Student Life & Learning
Avatar Anne Graham Cagney Chris O'Riordan Fiona Dowling
Dr. Colette Moloney, Assistant Registrar
Dr. Anne Graham Cagney, School of Lifelong Learning and Education
Dr. Chris O'Riordan, School of Business - Accountancy And Economics
Ms. Fiona Dowling, Lecturer in Design (Visual Communication)
Avatar Avatar Avatar Paul Clogher
Dr. Joanne Malone, School of Humanities, Languages, Tourism and Hospitality
Dr. Leana Reinl, Irish Research Council Fellow - Graduate Business
Ms. Mary Lyng, School of Science & Computing
Dr. Paul Clogher, Lecturer in Religious Studies & Theology - School of Humanities
Avatar Avatar Avatar Avatar
Ms. Una McDermott, School of Science & Computing -Dept of Science
Ms. Cathriona Diggins, Student Life and Learning
Mr. George Wright, School of Engineering, Architecture
Mr. Michael O'Toole, School of Engineering, Trade Studies
 avatar Avatar avatar Avatar
Mr.Sean Moran, Lifelong Learning and Education, Adult And Continuing Education
Mr. Tony Reid, School of Health Sciences, Nursing & Healthcare
Mr. Michael Murphy, Students Union President
Ms. Marie Sheedy, Students Union Education Officer

Academic Planning Committee

The Academic Planning Committee’s remit involves developing academic policy and strategy and the systems that support the implementation of that policy and strategy. The current Committee members are:

  • Dr. Derek O’Byrne  – Chairperson

  • Dr. Paul O’Leary

  • Dr.  Orla O’Donovan

  • Ms. Mary Lyng

  • Mr. Michael O’Toole

  • Dr. Paul Clogher

  • Mr. Bruce Wardrop

  • Mr. Paul O’Dwyer

  • Mr. Cathal Cocoman

Academic Quality Committee

The Academic Quality Committee’s remit centres around the assurance and enhancement of quality in the design and delivery of modules and programmes of study at all levels in Waterford Institute of Technology and its partners in education. The current Committee members are:

  • Dr. Derek O’Byrne  – Chairperson

  • Dr. Colette Moloney

  • Dr. Paul O’Leary

  • Dr T.J. McDonald

  • Dr Suzanne Denieffe

  • Mr Jimmy McGibney

  • Dr. Chris O’Riordan

  • Ms. Una McDermott

  • Ms. Ann Marie McGrath

  • Dr. Jennifer Kavanagh

  • Ms. Fiona Dowling

  • Ms.Liz White

  • Dr. Chris O’Riordan

  • Ms. Marie Sheedy

  • Ms. Joanne Malone

Research, Innovation & Entrepreneurship Committee

The remit of the Research, Innovation and Entrepreneurship Committee involves developing the Institute’s research strategy, supporting research and innovative and entrepreneurial activity across the Institute, and fostering an environment in which research, innovation and entrepreneurship can flourish. The current Committee members are:

  • Dr. Peter Mc Loughlin – Chairperson

  • Dr. Brendan Jennings

  • Dr. Anne Graham

  • Dr. Leana Reinl

  • Dr. Paul O’Leary

  • Prof. John Wells

  • Ms. Kathryn Kiely

  • Ms. Angela Power

  • Mr. Paul O’Dwyer 

Reseach sub-groups include the Research Ethics Committee and the Research Postgraduate Registration Group.

Teaching & Learning Committee

The Learning and Teaching Committee is concerned with all aspects of teaching and learning activity in the Institute. The current Committee members are:

  • Dr. Helen Murphy (Chairperson)

  • Mr. George Wright

  • Dr. Aidan McGrath

  • Ms. Laura Widger

  • Dr Paul O’Leary

  • Dr Rebecca O’Mahony

  • Mr. Terry O’Brien

  • Ms. Cathriona Diggins

  • Mr. Michael Murphy

  • Mr. Tony Reid

  • Ms. Marie Sheedy

The Academic Council is appointed by the WIT Governing Body to assist it in the planning (including the strategic planning), co-ordination, development and overseeing of the educational and research work of the Institute, and to protect, maintain and develop the academic standards of the programmes and activities of the Institute.

The Registrar has overall responsibility for co-ordinating the above processes and reporting to Academic Council and Institute authorities on progress and implementation. To ensure a strong link between Academic Council and Governing Body, a member of the Academic Council should present a report on the work of Academic Council to the Governing Body at least annually, but preferably once a semester.

The Academic Council has established the following committees: Academic Quality Committee, Academic Planning Committee, Learning and Teaching Committee, Research, Innovation and Entrepreneurship Committee, School Boards, Standing Committee and the Agenda Setting and Correspondence Committee. The Academic Council will normally delegate responsibility for detailed consideration, analysis and drafting of policies, procedures and other matters to its committees. Reports from committees on such matters will be referred to Academic Council for consideration by the larger meeting. Academic Council may adopt or reject such reports or refer them back to committee.WIT Academic Structure