Governing Body

Our CommunityGoverning Body

Governing Body

The Governing Body, under the terms of the Institutes of Technology Acts (1992 - 2006), manages and control the affairs of the Institute and performs the functions conferred on the Institute by the Acts. It is, therefore, the authority established by law to govern the Institute.

The Governing Body receives reports from the President and senior officers of the Institute, from time to time, evaluates them and makes strategic and policy decisions as required. Implementation of these decisions is entrusted to the President and delegated to the appropriate officers of the Institute. On academic matters the Governing Body is advised by the Institute's Academic Council.

The Governing Body may establish sub-committees from time to time, to assist it in carry out its work.

There are currently three constituted standing Committees of the Governing Body:

  • The Audit Committee: Assists the Governing Body in fulfilling its oversight responsibilities as set out in the Code of Governance for Irish Institutes of Technology.

  • The Strategic Planning Committee: Assists the Governing Body in the preparation and ongoing monitoring of the Institute's Strategic Plan.

  • The Irish Language Committee: The purpose of the Irish Language Committee is to recommend and promote the use of the Irish Language throughout the Institute and monitor compliance with legislative requirements and implementation of the Irish Language Scheme”. 

Code of Conduct

 Code of Conduct for Governing Body Members

 Good Practice Guidelines for Governing Members

 Standing Orders

 Governing Body Agenda Setting

 IOT Code of Governance

pdf Minutes of 21st ordinary meeting 28th February 2017

pdf Minutes of 20th ordinary meeting 24th January 2017

pdf Minutes of 19th ordinary meeting 20th December 2016

pdf Minutes of 18th ordinary meeting 29th November 2016

pdf Minutes of 17th ordinary meeting 25th October 2016

pdf Minutes of 16th ordinary meeting 27th September 2016

pdf Minutes of 15th ordinary meeting 6th September 2016

 Minutes of 14th ordinary meeting 5th July 2016

 Minutes of 13th ordinary meeting 13th June 2016

 Minutes of 12th ordinary meeting 24th May 2016

 Minutes of 11th ordinary meeting 26th April 2016

 Minutes of 10th ordinary meeting 22nd March 2016

 Institutes of Technology Act 2006

 RTC Act 1992

 Regional Technical Colleges(Amendment) Act, 1994

 Ethics in Public Office Acts 1995 and 2001

Governing Body Membership

The Governing Body Membership comprises the Chairman, the President and seventeen ordinary members.



Mr. Dick Langford


Local Authority representatives

Cllr. Jim Moore, (Waterford and Wexford ETB)
Cllr. Tom Cronin, (Waterford and Wexford ETB)
Cllr. Lola O ' Sullivan, (Waterford and Wexford ETB)
Cllr. Barbara Ann Murphy, (Waterford and Wexford ETB)
Cllr. Mary Hilda Cavanagh, (Kilkenny and Carlow ETB)
Cllr. John Fahey, (Tipperary ETB)

Academic Staff representatives

Dr. Kathleen Moore Walsh, Waterford Institute of Technology
Mr. Ray Ryan, Waterford Institute of Technology

Non Academic Staff representative

Mr. Frank Heraughty, Waterford Institute of Technology

Student representatives

Ms. Michelle Byrne, President WITSU

Mr. Michael Murphy, Welfare Officer WITSU

External representatives

Mr. Eamonn McEneaney, (Church Bodies)
Ms. Anne Marie Caulfield, (Waterford Chamber of Commerce)
Dr. Rob Landers, (Health Service Executive)
Ms.Jemma Mackey, (Irish Congress of Trade Unions)
Mr. Martin Costello, (IBEC)
Mr. Pat Roche, (Engineers Ireland)