Postgraduate StudiesNon-Funded Study Opportunities

Non-Funded Study Opportunities

Waterford Institute of Technology has a strong commitment to learning, research, development and innovation and has had success in all major research funding cycles in Ireland and Europe placing it at the forefront of the higher education sector in these areas.


Opportunities for research postgraduate studies may be available in the following areas:

  • Entrepreneurship, Healthcare Management, Reputation Management Branding, Tourism Services Management, Finance and International Business, Change management

  • Applied Arts - Literature, Art, Law, Music, Social Studies

  • Languages, Tourism and Hospitality - History

  • Building Technology

  • Engineering - Manufacturing, Electronics and Materials

  • Computing and Physics - Telecommunications Software, Information Systems, E-Learning, Opto-Electronics and Automotive IT

  • Science - Bioremediation, Separation Science, Pharmaceuticals, Forestry, Environmental Science Processes

  • Nursing, Health Sciences and Sports Studies

  • Education - Adult learning, Multiple Intelligences, Reflective Learning and Teaching


Interested in research at WIT?

If you are interested in pursuing research at WIT, it is advisable that you talk to researchers in the specific department.

Contact us

If you are interested in research at WIT, we would advise you to visit the departmental research section initially. This should give you an understanding of the areas of research persued in the department. We would then suggest you talk to the head of department to discuss your options.


Department of Graduate Business Studies
Head of Dept: Denis Harrington, dharrington@wit.ie


Adult & Continuing Education
Head of Dept: Neil  Quinlan, nquinlan@wit.ie


Department of Architecture
Head of Dept: Maire Henry, mhenry@wit.ie


Department of Built Environment
Head of Dept: Ken Thomas, kthomas@wit.ie


Department of Engineering Technology
Head of Dept: Albert Byrne, abyrne@wit.ie


Department of Nursing and Health Care
Head of Dept: Suzanne  Denieffe, sdenieffe@wit.ie


Department of Health, Sport & Exercise Studies
Head of Dept: Aoife Lane, alane@wit.ie


Department of Applied Arts
Head of Dept: Michael Howlett, mhowlett@wit.ie


Department of Creative & Performing Arts
Head of Dept: Marian O'Neill, moneill@wit.ie


Department of Languages, Tourism & Hospitality
Head of Dept: Ray Cullen, rcullen@wit.ie


Department of Chemical & Life Sciences
Head of Dept: Orla O'Donavan, oodonovan@wit.ie


Department of Computing, Maths & Physics
Head of Dept: Padraig Kirwan, pkirwan@wit.ie