ExchangesErasmus Mundus/Tempus

Erasmus Mundus/Tempus



Averroès Programme

WIT is one of twenty leading universities and more than 70 partner organisations that have come together to form Averroès 4, enabling university and scientific exchanges between European countries (Belgium, Spain, France, Italy and Ireland) and the Maghreb (Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia).

Bursaries for academic excellence make the journey across the Mediterranean possible. Every year there are more than 300 recipients: students (at undergraduate, post-graduate and doctoral level); young researchers (doctoral and post-doctoral level); and university personnel. The period spent abroad varies from one month for academic staff to 18 months for doctoral students.

Co-ordinated by the University of Montpellier II, Averroès is funded by the European Commission within the framework of Erasmus Mundus. By the end of 2012, more than 1,000 people will have been able to undertake research or study abroad through the programme.

The consortium Averroès 4 comprises 20 partner universities
Nine of these are situated in the European Union

University of Liège


University of Nice
University Montpellier I
University Montpellier II
University Montpellier III

Waterford Institute of Technology

University of Trento

University of the Balearic Islands


Eleven are situated in the Maghreb

Abderrahmane Mira University, Béjaia
Abou Bekr Belkaid University, Tlemcen
Ferhat Abbas University, Setif
Mentouri University, Constantine
Mouloud Mammeri University, Tizi Ouzou

Abdelmalek Essaadi University, Tetouan
Cadi Ayyad University, Marrakech
Mohamed V Agdal University, Rabat

University of Gabès
University of Sousse
University of Tunis el Manar

74 associate partners
Prominent institutions and socio-economic actors such as public authorities, companies, local councils, associations and regional ministries
Higher education institutions such as Algiers’ National Polytechnic, Montpellier Sup’Agro and the Universities of Cadix, Rabat and Monastir;
Research organisations including Agropolis International, CIRAD, Sfax Biotechnology Centre
International organisations such as the Agence Universitaire de la Francophonie.

Appliactions are now closed but for further information on Erasmus Mundus please contact the Project coordinator, Don O'Neill,

Compere logo

Waterford Institute of Technology is a partner in the COMPERE-Averroès (COMpétence Projets Européens REseau Averroès) project funded by the European Commission TEMPUS programme. The project will run from December 2013 to July 2017 and aims to provide staff from North African universities (Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia) with the skills necessary to apply for EU funding and work as EU project coordinators and partners for the period 2014-2020 (Erasmus+ and H2020 in particular).

The COMPERE-Averroès project comprises a consortium of 15 North African partner institutions (universities, research institutes in Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia, including 3 government ministries) and 6 European Higher education institutions


University of Montpellier (lead partner),

University of Nice,

University of Perpignan



Waterford Institute of Technology


University of Trento


University of the Balearic Islands, Palma.

For further information on the project see

Or contact WIT’s project coordinator Don O’Neill  or assistant coordinator Sinead Day



TEMPUS – COMPERE training week at WIT - October 2014

TEMPUS – COMPERE training week at WIT - October 2014

President of WIT, Dr Ruadhri Neavyn pictured with Maggy Pezeril, Project Coordinator, University of Montpellier, Don O’Neill and Sinead Day, project coordinators WIT, Dr Tom O’Toole VP International Relations, Prof Willie Donnelly, VP Research and Innovation along with colleagues from Algerian, Moroccan and Tunisian universities.


TEMPUS – COMPERE training week at WIT - January 2016

TEMPUS – COMPERE training week at WIT - January 2016

Claire Martin, University of Huelva, Zeyneb Belganche, University of Rabat, Hatem Hedhili, Universite Virtuelle de Tunis, Imen Bhibah, University of Tunis el Manar, Don O’Neill, WIT, Rosario Alamillo Granados, University of Huelva and Sonya Walsh, WIT

Related press releases