humanitiesSchool of Humanities

School of Humanities

Welcome to the School of Humanities


The School of Humanities comprises three academic departments, the Department of Applied Arts, the Department of Creative and Performing Arts, and the Department of Languages, Tourism and Hospitality. The School has a teaching complement of over 150 teaching staff and a number of support and administrative personnel.

The School incorporates and promotes a wide range of academic disciplines, including:


Art, Design,Photography, Music,History, Heritage Studies, Tourism, Hospitality Studies,Culinary Arts, Law, Social Studies, Communications, Film and MediaStudies, Languages, Cultural Studies, Creative Writing, Philosophy, Theology.

The School's administrative offices are located on the College Street campus, where the bulk of the School's teaching also takes place. The School also has an administrative office on the Cork Road campus where the programmes offered by the Department of Languages, Tourism and Hospitality are located.